I Can Do It! Yes!


I needed to figure out a bulletin board that would encourage appropriate behaviors in our classroom.  We already have a treasure chest full of great prizes for the children to win.    In order to get the prize,  we move Mickey Mouse Ears (with their picture on it) up a strip when we catch a child being good.  This strip is attached to their trifold schedule so is always near for the child to see how far they have to go to win the prize.  Here is a picture of the trifold with the Mickey Mouse Ears:

When they reach the top, they get to choose their prize from the treasure chest.  So going from that I decided that we needed to make a treasure chest full of toys.  I got out my Gypsy and found the cuts I needed, made the sizes I needed and made a great treasure chest!  The treasure chest comes from Life is a Beach and is cut as large as I could get it, 12″ x 10″.  The doll and bear are made about 4″ , the rocket ship is 2/1/2″ and the lizard and snake are about 4″ long by 2-3″ high. The doll and the bear came from a Child’s Year cartridge.

I pop dotted the toys inside and used my iRock by Imaginisce to attach jewels onto the chest for details. I am quite pleased by how it turned out.  Next, I cut out Mickey Mouse heads from Mickey and Friends cartridge, in black to scatter around the board to tie it all in with the Mickey Mouse ears the children have.  The heads are cut at 4″.

I cut out the title ” I Can Do It! Yes! at 5″. I used the  black font from Boys will be Boys cartridge.  Next I added flashcard visuals, made from  Boardmaker, matted with a simple rounded corner rectangle in blue.

This is the end result!  It really ties in with the Mouse Ears and helps to remind the children of what they could earn for great behavior.  I have cut files on my gypsy for anyone who would like them.  Leave a comment to let me know how you like it.  Leave your email address if you would like the cut files.  Thanks for looking!

2 comments on “I Can Do It! Yes!

  1. What an awesome idea….this is fantastic!!! I bet the kids loved it! tfs
    Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I’m now following you on facebook.
    hugs,jen

Leave a Reply

